Google Drive is a powerful tool for collaboration. If you have been a Google user for long, you most likely have folders shared with you from your campus, your department, committees, and more. If you move items from shared folders, it can remove the document from other individuals who need access. If you make a copy of the document for your own drive, then you no longer have a "live" copy to reflect the changes that others make to the document.
Shift Z comes to the rescue! Navigate to the document that you would like to "move" to another folder. Highlight the document and select "Shift Z". A window will pop up that will allow you to select a new location for a linked version of the same file to reside. This does not remove the file from its original location but places a linked version in a new location. You can have the same file linked in multiple folders. If someone makes a change to the file, your file will change as well since it is not a copy of the original file, but a linked to the original file.